Minnesota Beatle Project Vol. 2: The Latest Not-So-British Invasion

December 2, 2010

If you’re looking for some great new music or the perfect stocking stuffer this holiday season, we’ve got a great idea for you.

Over the last few months, Fast Horse has had the pleasure of working with Vega Productions, a local nonprofit, on the release of its latest album, Minnesota Beatle Project Vol. 2 (MBP).

The record is a compilation of Beatles songs covered by bands and artists with ties to Minnesota. The track list includes some popular Beatles songs — and some obscure ones. The performers are names big and small, including Soul Asylum, Mason Jennings, Sounds of Blackness, P.O.S., Total Babe and Polara.

Check out these three tracks from the album:

“I Am The Walrus” – Performed by Pert Near Sandstone featuring Ryan Young from Trampled by Turtles – Pickin’ party version of the trippy song from the movie and album “Magical Mystery Tour.”

“Child of Nature” – Performed by Mason Jennings – A well-crafted update to an unreleased John Lennon composition that eventually became “Jealous Guy.”

“Dear Boy” – Performed by P.O.S. – A much funkier version of a tune from Paul McCartney’s solo album “Ram.”

The great part about this album is that 100 percent of proceeds from the sale of CDs and digital downloads fund grants to music and art education programs in Minnesota’s public schools. Last year, Vol. 1 racked up $25,000 in grants, which helped buy musical instruments, art supplies – even a kiln – to help sustain and improve the quality of arts education in the state. Very cool.

Beginning Dec. 8, you can stop by your local Target or independent record store or log onto iTunes, Rhapsody, CD Baby or Amazon and pick up a copy. Pick up a second copy to give as a gift this holiday season. Not just because it will help keep art and music in Minnesota classrooms, but because the album is damn good.

My favorite track, you ask? “And Your Bird Can Sing” by Rogue Valley.

So listen to the embedded tracks, grab your own copy of the CD and let us know what you think!

Here’s the complete track list:

1. Good Morning Good Morning – Soul Asylum
2. Revolution – Total Babe
3. Child Of Nature – Mason Jennings
4. Fixing A Hole – Cory Chisel & The Wandering Sons (Humans Win! Remix)
5. Real Love – Lookbook
6. Happiness Is A Warm Gun – A Night In The Box
7. It’s All Too Much – Polara
8. Tomorrow Never Knows – Meat Puppets feat. Alison Scott
9. I Am The Walrus – Pert Near Sandstone
10. Michelle – The New Standards
11. And Your Bird Can Sing – Rogue Valley
12. Dear Boy – P.O.S.
13. I Want To Hold Your Hand – Edison High School
14. Golden Slumbers – Communist Daughter
15. Hey Jude – Sounds Of Blackness
16. Good Night – Curtiss A’s D’Lando Flaques*ffaire *Rockestra